Lovely Lady

Check this out, it’s probably my best poem ( I wrote it).

LOVELY LADY

Once I saw a lovely lady, she was standing right there, her eyes were deep blue and her hair was blond and fair.

I doffed my cap as I walked up to her, her rich red lips parted as she said, “Good evening sir.”

She spoke with a lilt and some spring in her voice, I had no choice, but to say, “lovely lady, would you take a walk with me?”

“With you?” she said, as she took out her parasol.

“Yes,” I answered, “we’ll go down to the park and watch the puppet show”.

So I took her arm and we walked down the road, down to the park and the Punch and Judy shows.

We walked up the avenue of trees, we sat on the grass and listened to the peaceful humming of bees.

I picked her a flower and we sat together for many an hour.

Until she said she must go, she hurried away and said she’d be back next day, but I never saw that lovely lady again.

One thought on “Lovely Lady

Your thoughts?

