The Winter Night Shelter

Last night I helped out at a winter night shelter. It was our first time volunteering there and it was a good experience.

Let me tell you a little bit about the shelter. There are seven different places in Brighton and Hove that have joined together to host one night a week each. Our night is a Wednesday.  It provides a hot meal and a bed for the night for fifteen rough sleepers.

I went in early to make a ginormous apple cake for pudding, for as you know, baking is one of my favourite things to do. I multiplied the recipe by six and mum bought masses of custard to go with it.

The shelter starts at 7pm, but we went in at 6pm to help set up. When the guys started arriving we served drinks and just chatted to people. I was talking to a man called Carys,  he, like me, loves books and he recommended that I read the Chronicles of Narnia, the Hobbit and Lord of the rings. He also wrote a little snippet of a story for me and I’m going to continue it and show him when we next volunteer.

I was paid a lot of compliments about the pudding and Carys asked if next time I could make a sticky toffee pudding. It’ll be a challenge, but I’m willing to give it a go.

I was thinking about what it means to be homeless. Dad set me the challenge of writing a blog about that.

 

 

6 thoughts on “The Winter Night Shelter

  1. The yuletide period is all about giving – God gave us Jesus. May you be blessed for giving your time and baking skill so that others can have a meal and be comfortable at night.

    Like

  2. Being homeless must be very difficult. For some it can be a choice, for others through no fault of there own. I would imagine there are many interesting stories waiting to be told to someone who will listen, particularly someone who bakes so well! We look forward to hearing your thoughts and stories.

    Like

Your thoughts?

