Favourite Tennis Player?

wimbledon1

I love tennis, as I’m sure some of you all do too. It is my dream to go to Wimbledon one day, I would love it.  It’s fun to watch or play, but have you ever thought about who your favourite player is?  I only really watch Wimbledon, sometimes Queens. It’s really hard to decide who you want to win, but I always cheer for the new players.  I just think that if the same top people like Andy Murray, Novak Djokovic, Serena Williams and Roger Federer win every year it gets a bit boring and predictable.

My fave has to be Jo-Wilfred Tsonga, he is so smiley.  I want to know who your favourites are, do you cheer on the not so famous players? Are you loyal to your country’s favourites? Let me know, leave a comment below.

Here’s my Wimbledon poem, hopefully I’ve captured the main feel and elements of the tournament.

Echo of shots out on the court,
the audience rises in applause.

It’s love-fifteen,
as the crowd tucks into strawberries and cream.

Summer days, nice and hot,
players doing rallies and shots.

Only in white,
the sun is so bright.

4 thoughts on “Favourite Tennis Player?

  1. I love Wimbledon! I just saw a fantastic match between Dustin Brown and Rafa Nadal. The variety of shots was amazing, and although I felt bad for Rafa, I was glad to see Dustin win, because he gave everything, and as you say, it’s great to see someone new winning. Roger Federer is my favourite though because he is always gentlemanly and doesn’t give up even against all the younger players 🙂

    Like

    • Hi Jacki
      Yes! That match was awesome. I also saw Roger Federer win and Tsonga too!:)
      Mum saw Andy Murray, but I missed that match. Dustin Brown is Mum’s new favourite! I like him as well, but Tsonga is still the best;)

      Like

  2. Hi Gracie it’s great that you like tennis so much I am sure one day you will get to Wimbledon I am not such a fan but I will watch the finals. And I will support Andy Murray love the poem xx

    Like

  3. My Mum always used to watch Wimbledon when we were young. Despite that introduction I’m not a great fan of tennis. I don’t mind watching a bit of the final’s, but I can always find something else I have to do or things to read! It would be nice if some different people won as you say.

    Like

Your thoughts?

