Jeans For Genes Day!

genesforjeans

Jeans for Genes Day is drawing near!  I’m sure some of you have heard of it and maybe even done something with your friends, school or work in aid of this amazing charity.  For those who aren’t familiar with it, here goes my explanation.

Jeans for Genes is a charity helping children with genetic disorders. On the 18 September every year, people in groups, schools, nurseries and workplaces all over the place get together and do something extraordinary in their jeans.

The money they raise goes to the charity and they use it to create life changing projects,  such as A Week On The Open Ocean, which gives children born with no eyes the opportunity to spend a week learning to sail and steer out in the English Channel. One teenage girl said that she didn’t dare to leave the house without her prosthetic eyes before the course.  She left them behind when she went on the boat and now she feels so much more confident without them. She also said that it taught her to be brave and try new things.  It’s really incredible.

It also provides equipment for the kids, like wheelchairs or communicating devices. It makes life a whole lot more pleasurable and easier for them and their families. They pay for well-earned holidays for young carers, who sacrifice their own life for the needs of others. They are true legends, they should be celebrated.

These children are so amazing, you think what they’ve been through, yet they don’t give up, they fight until the very end. When asked, ” What do want the most?”,  one young boy with restricted growth answered, “I wouldn’t change who I am for a million bucks, I just want to be accepted as who I am”.  They don’t want to feel excluded and bullied just because they are different, at heart they are just the same as any other child, special.

These are a few of the children with genetic disorders featured on the Jeans for Genes website. To read their stories visit the the address at the bottom of the page.

These are a few of the children with genetic disorders featured on the Jeans for Genes website. To read their stories visit: http://www.jeansforgenesday.org

I only heard about the charity recently, but as soon as I’d sat, my eyes glued to the article in First News, for ten minutes, I’d already made up my mind. I wanted to help. So I thought about what I could do in my jeans, a sponsored silence? A walk? A run? A swim? A cake sale? The main purpose of this blog was to make others aware of Jeans for Genes Day and to gather lots of ideas for things I could do to raise money for Jeans for Genes, extraordinary things for extraordinary kids.

So does anyone have any ideas?

 

Jeans2015

 

4 thoughts on “Jeans For Genes Day!

  1. A lovely article Gracie, so thoughtful. How about contacting First News to see if you could report for them, on all the wonderful things that other children and people are doing for Jeans for Genes Day. People could then sponsor you for each report you complete over the course of the day? Whatever you do make sure you let me know so I can join in and sponsor you x

    Like

  2. I think Melissa has a great idea and it’s something you are passionate about. Then we could all sponsor you. I will give it some thought and see if I come up with an idea well done on your writing xx

    Like

  3. oh ! that’s great Gracie ! thank you for sharing, I didn’t know about it.
    I’ll try to think of some ideas, but in the meantime let me know what you do, and I’ll sponsor you.
    Loads of love 🙂

    Like

Your thoughts?

