Holiday Snaps!

The beach

The beach at Lyme Regis

 

Buried in sand!

Buried in sand!

 

Last week my family and I went on holiday to the lovely little seaside town of Lyme Regis. We had such an amazing time I thought I’d share a few photos and memories.

Most of our time was spent on the beach, building sandcastle, swimming in the sea and burying each other in the sand.

Dad, Evan and Irys spent ages making me such a beautiful mermaid tail!

Dad, Evan and Irys spent ages making me such a beautiful mermaid tail!

Struggling to get out!

Struggling to get out!

 

 

 

 

 

 

It was Lyme Regis Lifeboat Week while we were there so there were loads of awesome activities on. We took part in a few of them.

Morris Dancing and we got to join in! It was really fun swirling hankies and skipping.

Morris Dancing and we got to join in! It was really fun swirling hankies and skipping.

 

 

 

 

Irys and Evan joined in a treasure hunt on the sandy beach. Here's irys digging for her life.

Irys and Evan joined in a treasure hunt on the sandy beach. Here’s irys digging for her life.

There was a pavement art competition. This was my entry. I didn't win.

There was a pavement art competition. This was my entry. I didn’t win.

 

 

 

 

 

Because it was lifeboat week the RNLI (royal national  lifeboat institution) put on lots of displays.  At one point we actually got to board the boat and have a look inside!

 

Ev trying on a crew member's helmet.

Ev trying on a crew member’s helmet.

This photo says it all. My bro is in absolute paradise, he LOVES the RNLI.

This photo says it all. My bro is in absolute paradise, he LOVES the RNLI.

Us with the small lifeboat, named 'The Spirit Of Loch Fyne'

Us with the small lifeboat, named ‘ The Spirit of Loch Fyne’

 

A rescue reanactment

A rescue reenactment

Me sitting in the lifeboat navigator's seat.

Me sitting in the lifeboat navigator’s seat.

 

We did a few walks on our holiday. Some long, some short. On one short walk we saw a stunning viaduct, so impressive. Another time we walked about 9 miles to Seaton, got the bus back to Lyme and then had to walk 2 or 3 miles back to the campsite. I must admit, my feet nearly dropped off!

Mum and us kids in front of the viaduct

Mum and us kids in front of the viaduct

Map reading

Map reading

Walking.....

Walking…..

This was taken just over half way through the walk.

This was taken just over half way through the walk.

Clambouring precariously along a fallen down tree which was resting against another tree. It was about 20 foot above the ground.

Clambouring precariously along a fallen down tree which was resting against another tree. It was about 20 foot above the ground.

 

This photo is of a water mill that was on our daily walk into Lyme.

This photo is of a water mill that was on our daily walk into Lyme.

 

We took some really cool selfies while on our hols. I tried to be creative and do something a little different when I took the one of me laying on the stones.

Me and Evan.

Me and Evan.

My Mum and Dad with Lyme Regis in the background.

My Mum and Dad with Lyme Regis in the background.

 

I love this pic.

I love this pic.

 

I love fireworks, they’re magical. I love to come up with names for all the different types, gold sparkles, fairy dust and lily flower. Watching them shoot up from the end of The Cob and explode above the sea, lighting it up in a thousand different colours, beautiful, just beautiful.

WOW!

WOW!

Fire Shower is my name for this one.

Fire Shower is my name for this one.

Squiggle and Swirl!

Squiggle and Swirl!

 

The Cob is a long wall in Lyme Regis that encircles the harbour. It is fun to walk along, you can feel the fresh sea breeze and it whips your hair around. My Mum and Uncle used to spend all of their holidays in Lyme, doing all the stuff we’ve done.

Looking down into the sea.

Looking down into the sea.

Irys (with a lovely smile)

Irys (with a lovely smile)

Weeeeeeeeeeeee!

Weeeeeeeeeeeee!

Evan about to walk along a rickety pontoon and then board the lifeboat. It's a dream come true for him.

Evan about to walk along a rickety pontoon and then board the lifeboat. It’s a dream come true for him.

I had to include this lovely photo of my sister.

This is Irys at our campsite, Hook Farm Camping.

This is Irys at our campsite, Hook Farm Camping.

Our camp, rather relaxed.

Our camp, rather relaxed.

 

Our great great grandparents used to be part of the bowling team on Lyme green. They have a bench here in their memory.

Our great great grandparents used to be part of the bowling team on Lyme green. They have a bench here in their memory.

After our lovely holiday in Lyme Regis we finally had to leave, but the fun was not over. We had a few places to stop on the way home, including the Cerne Giant, a village fete and Durdle Door, a place of wonder and tranquility, although it is invaded by hundreds of tourists every summer.

Coconut shy! Dad got two, but I got none.

Coconut shy! Dad got two, but I got none.

A lovely photo in front of the Cerne Giant.

A lovely family photo in front of the Cerne Giant.

The village fete we went to was in some one's garden and they had an outdoor swimming pool. Irys and I had a swim.

The village fete we went to was in some one’s garden and they had an outdoor swimming pool. Irys and I had a swim.

 

I took so many pics of Durdle Door, because I think it’s stunning. Here are the best ones:

My Siblings playing at dusk.

My Siblings playing at dusk.

The cove

The cove

Gazing out to sea......

Gazing out to sea……

The view of the beach, cove and arch from the cliff top.

The view of the beach, cove and arch from the cliff top.

Irys and the famous arch.

Irys and the famous arch.

Durdle Door

Durdle Door

 

This is a perfect picture. If I stare at it hard enough a poem starts to form in my mind.

This is a perfect picture. If I stare at it hard enough a poem starts to form in my mind.

 

I’ll finish with a few family shots and a big thank you to my Mum and Dad for such an awesome holiday.

Sitting on the step of our campervan.

Sitting on the step of our camper van.

Walking in the sea's shallows.

Walking in the sea’s shallows.

Dad and I

Dad and I

3 thoughts on “Holiday Snaps!

  1. What a fantastic holiday you haven’t missed out anything.the pictures are great and the and the writing about it all is excellent. Evan looked so excited to be able to join In the RNLI week. What fun you all had. It brought back a lot of memories of the holiday I spent with you all. Thank you for that. And well done xx

    Like

Your thoughts?

