Day 30 – Waterstones


Late in the afternoon, just as the sun was setting, we headed into town. We trudged along the Edgware Rd, turned left onto Oxford Street, onto Regents Street and finally entered Piccadilly Circus.

Piccadilly Circus

Piccadilly Circus

Here we spent a couple of pleasurable hours,pleasurable for me anyhow, in Waterstones. I went through stacks and shelves of books and more stacks and more shelves of books. Typical me, I acquired quite a large pile. Alas, I could only have one book.

Books galore! Books books and more books!

Books galore! Books books and more
books!

After many minutes of dilemma, I took a thick book that went by the name of ‘Picts and Martyrs’.

image

For those who have never had the pleasure of being acquainted with the  wonderful series of which this book is part, well, it shall be a great joy to introduce you.

Swallows and Amazons: children having adventures. No magic, no fantasy, just real life, normal children, no supernatural powers. A group of friends and allies who all share a love for two things: boats and adventure!

They sail out to deserted islands and camp there without any adults. They catch fish and cook it over fires. Then they climb mountains in the Lake District and plant their flags on the summit. These are children just like me.

My favourite ever book character is their leader, Captain Nancy Blackett. You see there are many groups of children all who meet up year after year. The Swallows: Sailors. The Amazons: Fierce pirates and wild warriors. The D’s or Picts: A scientist and a writer.

Nancy is captain of the Amazons. A smart and cunning young girl . It is she who comes up with all the battle plans and adventures .

If you have read Swallows and Amazons or seen the film, let me know who your favourite character is. If you haven’t read or watched it, be sure to. For those who haven’t, who is your fave book character?

Waterstones is a great bookshop. They create a really fun colourful atmosphere that encourages people to read. I don't need any encouraging, but my brother does. He really doesn't like reading. Even he found something he's now really enjoying!

Waterstones is a great bookshop. They create a really fun colourful atmosphere that encourages people to read. I don’t need any encouraging. Evan found something he’s now really enjoying!  Irys liked all the nature and animal books.

image

Irys liked the look of this one. She's put it on her wish list!

Irys liked the look of this one. She’s put it on her wish list!

image

Family selfie

2 thoughts on “Day 30 – Waterstones

  1. If I had to choose a favourite type of shop it would be a book shop. My favourite books when I was your age were Alfred Hitchcock and the Three Investigators. I don’t remember the characters now, but I had all the books in the series and read them over and over.

    Like

Your thoughts?

