Day 42 – Why do we cry?

Because I was learning about tears and crying I drew this girl.

Because I was learning about tears and crying I drew this girl.

Gracie 

Has anyone ever wondered why people cry when they are sad? Well, I always wonder about things. People say that I’m a dawdler, but that’s because they don’t realise that whilst I plod along behind, I’m wondering, observing and dreaming. That is my key to success.  People want to know how to be inspired in poetry, wonder, wander, observe and dream.

Anyhow, about tears and why we cry, I decided to do some research. There are three types of tears: Reflex tears, basal tears and physic tears.

Reflex tears are what you cry when you get an irritant substance in your eyes. For example, onion acid. These tears try to wash it out.

You cry basal tears constantly. They wash over your eyes, protecting them and stopping them from drying out. There is salt in our watery tears that kills any harmful bacteria.

Physic tears are what I really wanted to learn about. You cry these when you feel a very strong emotion such as sadness.

There are different theories about how this works and what the point of theses tears are, but nothing is scientifically proven. Some people think that the tear gland, located just below your eyebrow, is connected to a section in your brain that feels emotions.

Others think that tears are a signal of distress that we send out to get sympathy and help from other humans. Animals don’t have physic tears though, so why do we? People think it is because we want to send the signal without letting out a scream that would allow our ( animal) predators to see that we are afraid and weakening.

 

I don ‘t know what I believe!

I decided to do a drawing project on tears and crying.

This girl is depressed

This girl is depressed

This one is walking through a wild storm, her hair is whipped around and the wind is stinging her eyes> She's crying reflex tears.

This one is walking through a wild storm, her hair is whipped around and the wind is stinging her eyes. She’s crying reflex tears.

There's a story behind this one, but I don't want to be the one to tell it. Please leave a comment with a short snippet of story about this young girl. What has upset her? Why is she sad?

There’s a story behind this one, but I don’t want to be the one to tell it. Please leave a comment with a short snippet of story about this young girl. What has upset her? Why is she sad?

3 thoughts on “Day 42 – Why do we cry?

  1. Hannah could no longer contain her tears. hiding behind her sheet of shining blond hair she cried for all that had been and all that was to come. Her tears were sad for the past, but also tears of joy for all that promised to be……..

    Like

  2. What an interesting subject Gracie .i have never stopped to think there are different tears. I cry very easily which are emotional tears. Sometimes we cry when we feel sorry for ourselves. And always cry when peeling onions. Next time I cry I shall remember your writing xx

    Like

Your thoughts?

