Inspiration

inspire2

Sometimes I’m out and about and I have a brilliantly creative idea. I kick myself ’cause my pencil and pad is at home. Then it’s gone. The idea flickers, burns and dies within just a few seconds. I still remember it sometimes, but somehow it doesn’t seem so good.

Then I go home and pick up my pad and pencil. The blank, white sheet stares at me, the lines that run across it are like prison bars. Like the words inside my mind are trapped. Someone who isn’t  writer wouldn’t understand this, but it’s sort of depressing. Seeing that blank sheet and not having any words to decorate it. This is my struggle.

I’m sure all writers go through this. But the thing is you must push through it. You must just write and let inspiration guide you when it can. Stephen King said: Amateurs sit and wait for inspiration, the rest of us just get up and go to work. Sometimes you have to go out and look for things, it’s like everything in life, it won’t always come to you.

inspire1

Perfectly sums up what I’m trying to say about finding inspiration.

But still spontaneous inspiration is wonderful. It shows the absolute beauty of your mind.

Inspiration strikes at unexpected times. Roald Dhal admitted that sometimes he used lipstick and a sweet wrapper to record some idea he’d had. I think a decent writer has to find the balance between using spontaneous inspiration and finding inspiration themselves.

What are your thoughts on inspiration? Please let me know.

Inspiration concept crumpled paper light bulb metaphor for good

Love this.

3 thoughts on “Inspiration

  1. I think Inspiration is part of the creative process. You will have lots of moments of Inspiration, but not all will be worth remembering. They tell us though, that your brain is alive and open to new and exciting opportunities and that you can find the thoughts you need when you need them. Keep being Inspired who knows where it will lead you x

    Like

  2. Gracie. As you say you never know when you are going to be inspired .sometimes when you least expect it. So yes you should maybe keep a small pen and pad in your pocket xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Gracie, I can relate to the scenario you described in the first and second paragraph. It’s happened countless times. But like Nanny mentioned, I’m learning to always have my pen and notepad shadow me. I love inspiration. It’s everywhere, waiting to be received by sensitive & attuned minds. It can be spontaneous or ‘mustered’. It’s God’s gift!

    Like

Your thoughts?

