Poppa

 

IMG_3164[1]

The next part of our adventure takes place in Kent. Currently we are living in a house here, taking care of a good friend’s 95 year old father.

We are looking after Poppa, as everyone calls him, in his own home on Romney Marsh.

It’s a lot of work looking after Poppa and a lot of it my parents have to do, but I am Chief Tea Maker and I do bake a lot of cakes and puddings for him, as he does have a very sweet tooth. He’s a lot of fun to be around and everyone loves him.

It’s funny, but exciting for us to live in a 3 bedroom house, seeing as we’ve only ever lived in tiny houses and, just recently, in the back of a car!

We have our own room, me, my brother and sister, and we look out of our window in the morning across the flat marsh with sheep grazing in the sunrise. It’s beautiful.

I’ve set up my own little corner on the landing with a table and a chair. I’m right next to a window again and the view looks like a painting. I have my stack of books and my writing stuff. And, of course, a tin of biscuits! It’s blissful.

This morning Poppa did some Homeschooling with us. He seemed to be enjoying himself. He made everyone laugh by playing Irys’ recorder!

IMG_3169[1]

Looking after Pops is a pleasure for us.

We always said that if someone’s in need of help we would make it part of our journey to help them and we are.

 

IMG_3182

A good student

5 thoughts on “Poppa

  1. Aw, that’s lovely Guys. I think we forget people when they get older and often don’t appreciate that inside an old person is still a young person. Although the outside changes, the inside pretty much stays the same. I still feel the same as when I was 25! Enjoy your time in Kent, it’s a lovely place to be. My Aunty & Uncle live just up the road in Tenterden, which is a lovely town. If you get time do go and visit the town, I think you will like it xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Poppa looks really good. He is very fortunate to have you all looking after him. There are so many elderly people who would benefit from having such caring help . I guess you are enjoying where you are too. My mum came to live with us for 15 years. I like to think we made life better for her in her older years. Your dad uncle martin and uncle Andrew were very good with Nanny Pip as you are with Poppa xx

    Like

  3. Aww, Gracie! That’s really sweet of you 🙂
    After all, we are all human beings and we may age with time, but our feelings don’t change. Thanks for doing this post.

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts?

