Show That Love Is Evergreen

I can feel the sway of grasses in my heart.

I can feel the almighty push of a tiny shoot as it comes up through a crack in the pavement, all in my heart.

I can feel the buds in spring spreading out their leaves to soak up the sunshine, in my heart.

I can feel the meadow flowers growing taller in my heart.

I can feel the roots of the trees deep down in my heart.

 For love and my heart are evergreen. 

By Gracie Chick (me)

This Valentines day, show your love for our planet by making and wearing a green heart. Together we can raise awareness for climate change. Watch this beautiful video made by The Climate Coalition for inspiration on how to speak up for the earth. My idea is to write a poem, the subject: green hearts.

10 thoughts on “Show That Love Is Evergreen

  1. What a great idea Gracie, your poem is lovely & simple. At ANH, where I work, we do a lot of work around sustainability and our logo is a green heart shaped leaf. We will post something tomorrow to support this, thank you for sharing xxx

    Like

  2. I can feel the almighty push of a tiny shoot as it comes up through a crack in the pavement.

    That is a really beautiful line, I think my favourite one in the poem.
    It is always lovely to hear an emotive line like that.

    Like

Your thoughts?

