Something Inside So Strong…..

Hi Everyone! It’s Gracie here.

Sometimes there are things you just can’t ignore, things you have to put out there, share with others. The lyrics to this song haunt me in a good way, they are stuck in my mind, heart and soul forever.

They remind you of the injustice, prejudice, cruelty and darkness in this world. But they also convey pride and determination. They fill me with genuine emotion, especially when I hear them to the music, sung in that soulful voice that rings out with raw honesty and utter dignity, refusing ever to give in to the ignorance and oppression of society.

This is the tale of standing up and standing together, fighting for your rights. Listening to the song empowers and inspires me, I hope you feel the same way.

Without further ado, I present to you, Mr Labi Siffre!

 

What did you think? Am I the only one who is close to tears listening to this? What does the singer motivate you to do or change in your own life? I would love to hear from you, you always make my day with your kind, encouraging and touching comments. Thank you so much! 

Here is a reminder of the lyrics. Trust me, the more times you read them, the better they seem to become!

The higher you build your barriers
The taller I become
The further you take my rights away
The faster I will run
You can deny me, you can decide
To turn your face away
No matter ’cause there’s

Something inside so strong
I know that I can make it
Though you’re doing me wrong, so wrong
You thought that my pride was gone, oh no
There’s something inside so strong
Oh oh-oh-oh-oh-oh, something inside so strong

The more you refuse to hear my voice (ooh-weh ooh-weh ooh-weh ooh-weh)
The louder I will sing
You hide behind walls of Jericho (ooh-weh ooh-weh ooh-weh ooh-weh)
Your lies will come tumbling
Deny my place in time, you squander wealth that’s mine
My light will shine so brightly it will blind you
Because there’s

Something inside so strong
I know that I can make it
Though you’re doing me wrong, so wrong
You thought that my pride was gone, oh no
There’s something inside so strong
Oh oh-oh-oh-oh-oh, something inside so strong

Brothers and sisters, when they insist we’re just not good enough
Well we know better, just look him in his eyes and say
We’re gonna do it anyway, we’re gonna do it anyway
We’re gonna do it anyway, we’re gonna do it anyway
Because there’s

Something inside so strong
I know that I can make it
Though you’re doing me wrong, so wrong
You thought that my pride was gone, oh no, oh no
There’s something inside so strong

~Labi Siffre~ from the album So Strong

Bye for now….

Gracie

cropped-a-light-in-the-darkness-button.jpg

8 thoughts on “Something Inside So Strong…..

  1. Hi Gracie. I love that song heard it many times.Yes it is a very emotional song especially the way Labi Siffre sings . It does stir up different emotions just listening to it. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts?

