Livin’ In A Bubble

Hello There Everybody!  Trust Katy Perry to bring out another catchy song just as I was beginning to get ‘Roar’ out of my head. Every time I turn the radio on, Chained To The Rhythm is playing over and over and over again. And again. And again. And again.

At first I didn’t like it. Then I started listening to the lyrics, I didn’t have much choice, it’s being blasted out of speakers wherever I go.  Then I began to see the message behind this previously annoying pop song. Just read these words:

Are we crazy?
Living our lives through a lens
Trapped in our white-picket fence
Like ornaments
So comfortable, we live in a bubble, a bubble
So comfortable, we cannot see the trouble, the trouble
Aren’t you lonely
Up there in utopia
Where nothing will ever be enough?
Happily numb
So comfortable, we live in a bubble, a bubble
So comfortable, we cannot see the trouble, the trouble

Ah, so good
Your rose-colored glasses on
And party on

They got me thinking, maybe she’s right. Perhaps we all live in a bubble, thinking everything’s fine within our own little world. Maybe we don’t want to open our eyes to the rest of the planet and see what’s going on beyond our comfort zone. If we did, we’d have to do something about it, we’d see the poverty, fear and oppression that exists outside of our ‘bubble’. I guess everyone has one, though they’re all very different. Some people wear dark rose-coloured glasses and can see very little, others wear light ones, but rose-coloured all the same.

I think the challenge is to be able to pop your bubble and step out into the big, wide world. So much awaits you and you can do so much to help others.

 

I’d love to know how you feel? Your heartfelt, encouraging, kind and thoughtful comments always make my day so please don’t hesitate to leave me one. I am interested in all your opinions, comment discussions are always welcome. Thank you in advance,

Gracie,

 cropped-a-light-in-the-darkness-button.jpg 

21 thoughts on “Livin’ In A Bubble

  1. Hi Gracie I guess you are right we do live in a bubble and don’t look further than our own little world.There is so much going on that we don’t always educate ourselves about the rest of the world.Its people like you who bring it to our attention .The world would be a much happier place with more Gracie’s in it. Xx

    Like

  2. Spot on Gracie. It’s surprising how many people do stay in one little bubble, I see it every day with the work I’m doing now. My bubble is ever expanding and gosh it makes life interesting!! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. OMG this song is one of my favourites!! Trust it alwayyss put some sense into me and lift me out of any low spirits.
    I was also dancing to it when I was home alone…I wonder if you saw that 😂😂😋 lol. And the line, “So comfortable living in a bubble, bubble” stretches really deep. ❤
    Xx

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts?

