The Anthology Continues: Prepare To Be Inspired And Captivated By The Power Of Stories

Hiya guys!😃

I’m back with the third part of the anthology I’m writing. I kicked off with two of my own experiences, ‘The Gift’ and ‘That Time I Stood Up For What I Believed’. You can read them here and here. I also asked you all to share your life-defining moments with me too, to add to the anthology I wanted to create. In ‘The Gift’, I presented two beautifully written and absolutely inspirational experiences that people had sent me.

Today I am extremely​ pleased to say that I have two more to give you!

I’ll start off with one from my own Nan, as some of you will probably have noticed, she comments on every single post I make, sharing her wise words and everlasting support. Thanks Nan! Here is her story, I will just explain it a little just so it makes sense to those of you who don’t know the circumstances.

My Uncle Andy, Nan’s son,  died a few months before I was born. He was a climber and tragically his passion cost him his life, though he lost it being brave and  trying to save someone else. His ashes are scattered at the summit of Great Gable, a mountain in the Lake District, UK. Although I never met him, I miss him because the people close to me do.

Now onto Nan’s story.

When I lost your Uncle Andrew I wanted to see the top of the mountain where he was. So with all the family I set out as a sponsored climb for mountain rescue. I was 62 years old at the time. The weather was terrible that day, wind and rain. Gracie, your Dad said to me “You don’t have to do this Mum.” I replied: “Yes, I do.”. A lot of people were egging me on and although it was the toughest thing I have ever done I was determined to reach the top. I raised a lot of money for mountain rescue to help other people. Which says to me that if you want to do something in life and have the inner strength and determination you can conquer all.

Isn’t this just incredible?

Now for one from the lovely Adoma, who blogs at https://girlfromghana.wordpress.com

Her story is quite long and I can’t figure out how to copy and paste on this phone that I’m having to use as it’s the only thing I can fit in Mo. I’m having several frustrating technical difficulties currently.  So sorry Adoma and everyone reading this, I’m just giving you the link.

Adoma wanted to share an emotional and difficult experience for her and I’m honoured that she’s allowing me to post the link here: https://girlfromghana.wordpress.com/2017/04/08/what-the-june-3rd-disaster-taught-me/

Please do go read it and leave her a comment. It would be much appreciated by us both!

I hope that you enjoyed this post and that you were inspired and captivated by the stories you’ve just read. I’d love you to send me your thoughts, always love hearing from you all!

Bye for now,

Gracie.

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “The Anthology Continues: Prepare To Be Inspired And Captivated By The Power Of Stories

  1. Thank you for sharing Adoma’s story Gracie. It is a terrible thing to have happened. So many awful things happen in the world that we don’t know about. It’s so good to share stories so people know they’re not alone and to remind us to be grateful for all we have. xxx

    Like

  2. Hi Gracie, I wanted to share something that’s been brought home to me very recently. I can’t share details, but a particular incident has highlighted to me how important it is to consider both sides of a situation. With the way today’s media reports it’s very easy to make judgements and jump to conclusions without considering there may be more to a story than we’re being told. It also means that other people can be targeted due to something that a person close to them has been accused of doing, even though they had nothing to do with it.

    My.message is that we must always reserve judgement until we know the full details of a situation and never judge other people by another person’so actions, however close they may be to that person.

    xxx

    Like

Your thoughts?

