NEVER WEAR YELLOW IN THE SUMMER: A LESSON LEARNT!

As the title states, I think I’ve learnt my lesson. Never wear yellow in the summer, or this happens:

 

 

Most people would be hyperventilating screaming in that situation, but it doesn’t bother me. Like, at all. They were like little beetles with wings and were actually pretty cool. It makes me wonder how humans have become uncomfortable, even scared, around bugs? Where has this come from?

If people calmed down and thought about it rationally they’d realise that, although bugs may not be particularly ‘pleasant’, they’re not exactly disgusting or terrifying either. Are they?

These little fellas weren’t doing me any harm and it was actually quite funny to laugh at my mistake.

It’s crazy to think that there are people in this world who are absolutely horrified to even see a spider and then there are others who tuck into them like a snack. Sorry if this makes you feel queasy, it’s the truth though! The crazy, crazy truth.

This is the result of different cultures and societies. Are phobias of insects what comes with our ‘advanced modern society’?

What do you think? Apologies for the rant…!

I hope this sparks a discussion, please leave a comment with all your thoughts and opinions on this topic! I’d love to hear from you. 

56 thoughts on “NEVER WEAR YELLOW IN THE SUMMER: A LESSON LEARNT!

  1. Wow those are allot of beetles 😂 in the summer weather here in Ireland we are lucky if we can avoid getting covered in insects but they are everywhere. I wouldn’t be screaming if they were on me but I would go abit still 😂 I recently ate crickets though so I’m kinda playing mind games with myself to see how much I can handle 😂. I think one of the reasons insects spark fear is that they are associated with disease or rot when the majority are harmless. My mum’s been worried about some particular flies going around as they are a health risk for her but I suppose that’s a different type of fear towards them 😂

    Liked by 2 people

    • I know! 😂😂😂 Yeah, I’ve heard that it’s really bad in Ireland. I do understand why people wouldn’t want to be COVERED in them though. Its unnatural, isn’t it? You ate crickets!? My brother is into survival and Bear Grylls, you don’t want to know what he’s eaten! I’ve had a worm, woodlouse and scorpion. An experience you only try once!

      Yes, I guess some bugs are a risk to our health and that’s a rational fear. Thanks for commenting, Elsie. 😁😁😁

      Liked by 2 people

      • Haha! It was tiny and all dried out. It tasted like a salty cornflake!!!😂😂😂 A witchetty grub!? That’s cool and horrid at the same time, I would in a survival situation! Yup, I think I’d better change the subject! How are you today, Elsie?

        Liked by 2 people

      • 😂 I’m good thanks, preparing a blog post for later today, the big news is what I mentioned at your party (you knew first! 😂) about the course I am going to do. Everything is set for me to start it after my holiday and I can’t wait 😄. How are you?

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Woahh man!! Brilliant peace of writing. This blog is 💯💯💯❤.please visit my too it will be my pleasure that gr8 bloggers like you visiting. But still dude you rock. 🙇🙇🙇🔥

    Liked by 1 person

  3. OH MY GOD I WOULD BE SO FREAKING SCARED IF I WERE YOU. Like… I know they can’t hurt you but my instinct is to get away from bugs. Period. I like flies the least (even tho they can’t hurt) BECAUSE THE BUZZING NOISE. THE BUZZING NOISSSSSSSE. And then you try to swat it away but you can tell how BIG it is and disgusting and aghahghagh. I hate bugs.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Haha nice post, Gracie!
    Personally, I’m scared of any bugs that could potentially hurt me. If bugs were crawling on me, I’d only freak if they could bite or sting me. If they’re gnats, they’re just annoying! But I don’t like anything crawling on me because it gives me a sense of insecurity and I get very uncomfortable. But I wish I wasn’t so deathly afraid of bees–I’d be able to enjoy nature so much more (and I love nature!) You pose a great question about modern society…Perhaps because we’ve become so much more urbanized we’ve developed these phobias much more commonly. Look at the settlers, the pioneers, vagabonds–they’d have to had dealt with pretty much anything highly inconvenient to their living conditions, but they faced it! But bees…I don’t know how to overcome it D:

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Grace! Haha, yeah. The insecurity point is really interesting actually. I wonder why it is like that for some people and not others? You’re definitely right about the pioneers, what has changed since then?

      Gracie

      Like

  5. That’s nice that you aren’t afraid of them. I’m not afraid of them, but if they’re in my hair or on any part of me that I can’t see that’s my skin, like the back of my neck, I don’t like it. They’re just kind of… gross. And I don’t like grass hoppers because when we’re riding horses through pastures they’ll full on fly in your face and it hurts. And also their feet feel gross. Have you ever had one fly in your mouth? Anyways, I don’t really love bugs. I know, I know, I’m a country girl I shouldn’t mind them…but… I don’t like them. And I can’t STAND horse flies. Recently they are EVERYWHERE they won’t leave our horses alone and I’m constantly trying to kill them. I’m more just annoyed by bugs rather than scared of them. I don’t love it when they’re crawling on me…anyhoo, spiders don’t scare me but when they’re big and juicy on the ceiling I don’t like that. Like… I don’t like going to sleep knowing that there’s a live one (that’s big) in my room… I’m not too scared to squish them though.. I can do that! 😉 My mom did get a brown recluse bite a while back though and it was the most awful disgusting thing…. BLECK! Anyways, I don’t like spiders. I would prefer a mouse, DEFINITELY a toad… (I can’t BELIEVE how many people are scared of toads!!! THEY’RE SO CUTE AND FRIENDLY!) rather than a big spider. I don’t like snakes in the house either. Outside they’re just fine…but in the house …NO THANK YOU. I don’t think I’d want a mouse in the house very bad though… Anyways, I’ll stop my rant now! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts?

