What Am I Reading? + The Elements Of A Novel (Just Me Dissecting One Of The Greatest And Most Famous Works Of Literature Ever)

At 994 pages long, this could just be one of the BIGGEST reading challenges I’ve ever taken on. Allow me to introduce ‘War and Peace’! Da da da!

Everything about this book draws me to it, the language, the setting, the characters, the fact that HARDLY ANYONE HAS READ IT! This is actually one of the main reasons I decided to read ‘War and Peace’, it’s intriguing because of the challenge it presents. It is also one of the most famous works of literature ever.

This novel is so amazing that I am dedicating a whole post to it! I’m going to cover different elements one by one. *carefully dissects War and Peace page by page* *takes forever* To kick off, let’s go with a brief overview:

Amidst a lavish party in St Petersburg attended by society’s finest, the prospect of war is on everyone’s lips. Soon the lives of Pierre, Prince Andrei and Natasha are changed forever as Napoleon’s armies invade and brutal conflict tears their world’s apart.

In this beguiling masterpiece, Leo Tolstoy (the author) entwines love, death and determinism with war and its effects on those swept up by the terror it brings. Following the rise and fall of some of Russia’s most influential families, this truthful and poignant epic is as relevant today as ever. 

Although it’s an old work, this novel encompasses some really modern ideas. Lets now move on to characters:

The characters in this are so well-created. There are the three main protagonists as well as endless others, but we’ll focus on Pierre, Prince Andrei and Natasha today. Note: I haven’t finished the book yet, so I can’t say I know these characters that well, but I’ll do my best.

Pierre: The favourite, but illegitimate son of a rich old count, Pierre is a newcomer in this world of scandal and small talk (AKA Russian high society). After recently returning from an education abroad, he still learning what is expected of him here. He often says the wrong thing at the wrong moment, much to the shock and distress of other, more experienced, members of society. His strong, keen opinions are not always appreciated, especially as he is quick to praise Napoleon (whom the aristocrats feel threatens their way of life) and speak on behalf of the people.

His Father has commanded him to choose the path he wants to take in life and he is still unable to decide when his Father falls I’ll and does, but not before appealing for Pierre to be deemed legitimate and heir to his colossal fortune. Suddenly Pierre is a Count and one of the wealthiest men in Russia. It seems his future is laid out before him, his choice suddenly snatched away.

Prince Andrei: Intelligent, well-respected, learned, eloquent and able to discuss his opinions, the Prince is everything Pierre wants to be. Yet Prince Andrei doesn’t fit in with high society, so when the war begins he joins the army, relieved to find a sense of purpose at last. He is a courageous soldier, but not everyone is happy that he’s there. His wife is expecting a child and is angry at him for leaving her to go off and fight. 

Natasha: Princess Natasha is thirteen when we meet her. She loves life and rejoices in everything, spreading cheer and laughter wherever she goes. She has parents who love her, a man who promises to marry her when she is sixteen, and is surrounded by people who adore her. Perhaps she hasn’t even contemplated her future….?

My personal favourite is Pierre, I love the way he is torn between the world he has experienced abroad and the world he has been born into. He is so inquisitive, so eager to ask questions that no one else wants to know the answers to.

Well, I’d better get back to reading! This may take me a while! *flips through pages enthusiastically*

What’s the biggest reading challenge you’ve ever taken on? Would you read War and Peace? Did you enjoy this post? How were my images? 

Note: I would like to give a quick shout-out to my good blogging friend May! She has just started her debut blogging project The Scribblers Challenge and it would be amazing if you all went and joined in! Thanks in advance from both of us!

 

 

 

31 thoughts on “What Am I Reading? + The Elements Of A Novel (Just Me Dissecting One Of The Greatest And Most Famous Works Of Literature Ever)

  1. I’d surely wanna try the book! I really the actress in the character of Natasha! The longest novel that I have ever read is a 330 paged book! But I really enjoyed it. I liked the pictures that you added! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • You definitely should! It means the absolute WORLD to me that you liked those pictures, it was my very first attempt at designing featured images and I thought they were pretty bad. Xxx
      Thanks for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my gosh you’re reading War and Peace??!?!! That’s awesome! I’d love to read it, but I just finished Les Mis (which is also humongous) for the nearly third time and now need a break from giant books. 🙂 You’re making me want to read it anyway, though!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like how complicated and really thought through old Russian novels can be. I’m not even halfway through Crime and Punishment by Dostojevskij and although it can be confusing at times I like the challenge of working my way through it, just like you 🙂
    I’m definitely adding War and Peace on my reading list 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Gracie you are highly commended for reading War and Peace.something I could never do.Buthaving read your description. of the three characters so far and you are going to blog all the way through I know I am going to enjoy your version of the story look forward to your next blog xxxxx

    Like

  5. I can’t say I would tackle War & Peace because I just don’t have the spare time at the moment, but I’m looking forward to finding out about it from your posts. This is one for my future To Do list I think!! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I haven’t read it! I would really like to, but I believe it would possibly take 994 years because of other commitments and the fact that I would get distracted by other books. Not saying I wouldn’t love to, I would! It sounds great.
    ~Emily x

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow, 994 is so many pages! I’ve vaguely heard of War and Peace… but I’m not that interested. XD Pierre sounds like an intriguing character tho! Good luck to you, and thanks so much for shouting me out! ❤ (BTW Is this the post you were asking me about with the graphic design?)

    Liked by 1 person

  8. War and Peace! I remember twelve-year-old me attempting to read it, although it was a feat, that’s for sure! I’d love to see the BBC adaptation of it… it looks really good. But then that breaks the books before movies rule! Gah!

    xoxo Abigail Lennah

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Ah, Leo Tolstoy. 🙂 I’ve read a bit of him before, quite recently incidentally. I’d totally read War and Peace. It sounds great! I like how you highlighted the characters here. They’re probably my favourite part of books. It feels like you’re growing up with someone, word by word, page by page, and before you know it, it feels like you’ve lived your whole life with them. 🙂
    They say you know you’ve read a good book when you close it and feel like you’ve lost a friend. It’s a wonderful quote.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ooh, what Leo Tolstoy have you read, Mukta? I love characters too! By far the best part of a book. I feel as though I always have such a deep connection with them by the end of the story. I really envy certain authors for being able to create such incredible and realistic characters.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I read a little part of What Men Live By and Other Tales for school. 🙂
        Well phrased, Gracie. Humanness (if that’s a word) is one thing about characters that I love. It’s enjoyable finding characters acting in such natural ways, just like they would be expected to if they were real.
        I’ve often discussed movie and television serial characters with my mom, but I guess they relate to books as well. She says that protagonists aren’t always the goody-goody, perfect people. I love some authors for brewing up characters that are so easy to relate to that their flaws make them perfect.

        Liked by 1 person

  10. War and Peace is a wonderful book, I have yet to read it, but its on my good books.
    Have you herd of Franz Kafka he wrote The Trial and The Castle among many others.

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts?

