‘Gracie’s School’ Q and A Post + An Exciting Blogging Announcement

In myย last post I introduced to you to my very own school, students and classroom. I shared my happiness at being able to fulfill my dream and making it happen through my own determination.ย  Iย  also asked you to submit your questions for my school themed Q and A. Well, many of you had lots to ask so read on…and enjoy!

Questions from Mukta:

When and how did you realize you wanted to be a teacher?

I’ve always loved learning and, to me, nothing sounds more like paradise than a place where young people can gather together to learn and share and pursue their passions.

School, and the modern education system, are supposed to provide that service, but I don’t believe they are. The majority of my generation view school as a negative place, a prison, something they’re forced to attend. School should be a place everyone wants to go to.

I am home-educated and the above is precisely the reason I don’t go to school. The reason I decided to become a teacher is because I want to create the school that I dream of, the school I want to go to.

What time do you begin/end teaching?

Nothing is set in stone yet, at the moment I’m being pretty flexible. Usually we start at about 10am and finish about 4pm??? ๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€

Questions from Loren:

When you start a real school, will you want it to be elementary, middle, or high school?

I hope that my school will be a place where kids and teens of all ages can come together and learn. I want it to be an environment where they help and teach each other. I am from the UK so I’m not exactly that familiar with the US education system, we say ‘Primaryโ€™ and ‘Secondaryโ€™ schools here!

Questions from Melissa:

Are your pupils allowed to direct any of your teaching and follow their own interests or are you quite strict in following your lesson plans?

There needs to be a balance. I do make lesson plans (which I try to stick to), but if I see that my students are interested in or enthusiastic about a particular subject, I’m more than happy to focus on it. I also welcome my students suggestions and ideas. I have certain parts in each lesson where I ask one of my students to lead the activity and I just watch. It teaches them teamwork, leadership and creativity, all equally important lessons!

Questions fromย The Girl With IronWings

Are you guys going to travel around the farm place and learn things practically orโ€ฆ..?

Yeah, I guess so. It’s important to include a bit of reading, writing, maths and theoretical science, but most of the activities we do are outdoors, hands on and practical. I find that my students learn better when out and about on the farm. For example, we went fishing in the stream and then identified and learnt about what we caught. They loved it! Way more than reading about the affect humans have on natural habitats! ๐Ÿ˜€ I bet they remembered more of the former too.

How is the teaching going to be โ€“ How different from todayโ€™s schools? ๐Ÿ˜Š

Hehe. I would say it’s pretty different. Hereโ€™s a quick list.

  • All different ages and abilities taught together.
  • We learn about things that are important in life, like knowing and appreciating your surroundings and how to protect them.ย 
  • The learning (and teaching!) is FUN!!!
  • I try and think about what suits my students individually, what they need help with and what their strengths are. I keep that in mind when making my lesson plans, unlike school with its ‘one size fits allโ€™ attitude.

Also, since itโ€™s about the environment will you be using gadgets?

We have a few gadgets… a camera trap that weโ€™ve used to try and capture the secret lives of wildlife on the farm. We don’t use a lot of technology, just the internet to research things and find information.

Questions fromย Misabellaย :

What is your favourite subject to teach?

I’m about to start doing a book club + English and creative writing classes. I don’t enjoy maths very much, just because I teach out of a book and have to follow a set system/curriculum. These ‘environmentโ€™ lessons are great, I get to be creative and come up with fun, unique ideas that really engage my students. ๐Ÿ˜

Do you find particular methods of discipline more effective than others?

Iโ€™ve googled the different โ€˜methods of disciplineโ€™ and would say my style is a mix of them all! I do try to set boundaries, but I also try and be positive and humorous. I wouldn’t say I’m strict, I try to be patient and listen to my students – although that is something I struggle with. I think this is an area I need to look into a bit more – especially if I want to be a successful teacher!

Questions from Tom:

How long do you hope to be keeping up with this school for?

Well, we’re living at the farm over the autumn, winter and early spring so the lessons will probably continue through those seasons. After that my family and I are off on our travels, maybe into Europe, maybe even further, searching for a place to settle down and call home. When we find that place I have no doubt that my school will re-establish itself and begin again, stronger and better than before.ย 

School is an interesting word, I wonder if it’s Greek?

Well, thanks to your research, Tom, we now know that it is a Greek word meaning ‘lecture place’. It would have looked like this in its original text:ย skholแธ— or ฯƒฯ‡ฮฟฮปฮฎ. Great fact!ย 

ย I hope you all enjoyed that little Q and A! I loved sharing my thoughts and ideas on education, I even learnt a few interesting things in the process. If anyone still has any questions, please feel free to comment them and I’ll try to answer.

Okay, now I have an exciting and important announcement to make: I am getting some newly designed features on A Light In The Darkness soon! Not saying anything more, but watch out for a post revealing those. This is me at the moment: ๐Ÿคโ˜บโ˜บโ˜บ๐Ÿคย 

Xxx

34 thoughts on “‘Gracie’s School’ Q and A Post + An Exciting Blogging Announcement

  1. Hi Gracie what an interesting write up from a lot of people and your answers are excellent. I have a question. There is a lot of talk about you and your teaching.I would like to know what you expect from your pupils and why. Xxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know, isn’t it? That’s a very, very interesting question. I would say that I expect them to enthusiastic about what they’re learning and to try hard even if they don’t always think they’re good at something.

      Like

  2. Woah I absolutely loved reading the answers!! They were really interesting. ๐Ÿ˜ƒ And practical learning is THE BEST AND TERRIFIC FUN!! I might join your school one day. Just saying ๐Ÿ˜‚.
    And WOAH, this is only your temporary home? And you shall be moving into Europe in search of a place? THIS IS WAY COOL. Do you keep moving?
    Also I was wondering if you’ve seen this video ” I just sued the school system!! ” by Prince Ea ??
    Xoxo๐Ÿ’™

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I’m so glad you enjoyed it. I would love it if you would join my school ๐Ÿ˜ We’d have a ton of fun!!!
      Yeah, this farm had been my home/Basecamp for the past nine years, but my family had always travelled, trying to find the place where we belong. In the spring we are officially setting off into the world to search harder for that place and those people who will we share our lives with.

      I don’t like traveling. Sure I see lots of cool and interesting places, but I want solid friendships and a community around me. It’s a hard existence when you never stay in one place enough time to make proper friends and get to call it home.

      And yes! I just watched it. That was SO amazing and summed up my thoughts exactly. Thank you for recommending it.

      Xxx

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yepp!! We totally would!! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜

        That’s nice because its not everyday you come across people who go on to find their purpose in life, to find that place where you actually belong. Or maybe, it sounds really nice. I don’t know how it’d be to actually experience it.

        And ooh, I think I get you. ๐Ÿ™‚ Well, who knows we might even end up neighbours onee day. Lol. ๐Ÿ˜‚
        And whoa yayy!! I love that video soo damn much. It’s worth watching a 100 times!! And I just asked whether you had seen it because you quoted a line that said most schools have this “one size fits all” attitude, which is a line I really like a lot; and which he says in that video.
        See I almost memorized it. ๐Ÿ˜‚
        Xx

        Liked by 1 person

      • Aaahhh we have so much to talk!! I’m a bigg fan of his because he’s so amazing. He hits the nail rightly and says every thing to the point which is awesome and gives me the shivers and gooseflesh. I’ve even subscribed him on YouTube!! ๐Ÿ˜€
        Xx

        Liked by 1 person

      • Haha yayy!! Its pretty okay, I guess? People suddenly become really annoying at times or it’s me getting irritated easily. ๐Ÿ˜‚ Other than that, it’s all great! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ. Do you get annoyed easily?
        Xx

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s good. And yeah, #relatable!!! ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜
        I’m not a very patient person and things do often upset or annoy me though I don’t show it. There’s a ton of drama going on in my friendship group at the moment and my way of coping is just shutting it all out and pretending I don’t care. I’ve been super focused on my teaching which is the most important thing and helps me get through it.

        Sorry about that mini rant, just wanted to share an example/experience. Xxx

        P.S. I love how our comments always develop into interesting discussions on one intriguing topic or another. It’s brilliant. โค๏ธ

        Liked by 1 person

      • Haha, for real?! But unfortunately sometimes I do show it, although i don’t yell or do anything as such. ๐Ÿ˜‚ And I think that’s absolutely the best, shutting it out for a while, but not completely. And I’m glad you’re getting through. โ˜บ

        Oh that’s nothing. I’m ready to hear you out anytime, and even glad you could relate. ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜‹

        Haha yesss right?! It just develops into a nice conversation without us realising it, and that’s the coolest. Yay! ๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜†
        Xx

        Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts?

